Announcing the Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2019

Opportunity Closing Date: 
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 - 17:00

The Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize is led by founding Director Professor Anita Taylor at Bath Spa University and supported by the Trinity Buoy Wharf Trust. Selected from original art works, the Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize and exhibition has an established reputation for its commitment to championing excellence and promoting and celebrating the breadth of contemporary drawing practice within the UK. This open exhibition is a platform for drawing practitioners to showcase their work alongside other leading contemporary artists and makers in the field, with the exhibition touring widely in the UK. In offering emerging, mid-career and established artists and makers a national platform to exhibit their work, the project has developed new insights into the role and value of drawing in creative practice today.

The project was founded in 1994 as the Rexel Derwent Open Drawing Exhibition. It was known from 1996 until 2000 as the Cheltenham Open Drawing exhibition and was supported by a private benefactor, Westland Nurseries, The Summerfield Trust, CHK Charities and Rootstein Hopkins Foundation. From 2001 to 2017, the exhibition was supported by Jerwood Charitable Foundation and known as Jerwood Drawing Prize. Trinity Buoy Wharf Trust became the principal benefactor in 2018 and the exhibition was renamed the Trinity Buoy Wharf.  Artists and makers selected for Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2019 will be eligible for awards of a total value of £27,000. AFirst Prize of £8000; a Second Prize of £5000; a Student Award of £2000; and a Working Drawing Prize that has increased in value to £2000 this year. These awards will be chosen by the Selection Panel and announced at the launch of the exhibition and Awards Ceremony on 25 September 2019 at Trinity Buoy Wharf in London.  Following the success of the first Evelyn Williams Drawing Award, the Evelyn Williams Trust will generously support an award of £10,000 in 2019.